Black Eyed Pea Nachos

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

Late night nachos made from things I happened to have on hand.

1- One per Nacho- Corn chips (scoop variety) – Some were left over from Tony’s birthday party

2- A sprinkling over the bare chips- Onion powder – Which belongs on almost everything

3- A pinch into the bottom of each chip- Sweet & smoky rub  – It’s a seasoning mix with salt, brown sugar, paprika, chipotle, cinnamon, etc. I use it a ton. I especially love it on sweet potatoes and pork chops. I really should make my own mix like it instead of buying it over and over but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

4- One drop on the chip and two drops on each after adding the peas- Sriracha– This is my go to hot sauce, not just for Asian foods.

5- Enough to almost fill the scoop chip- Canned black eyed peas with jalapeno- I used a little jalapeno on each chip along with some black eyed peas.

6- To cover- Fiesta shredded cheese mix- I keep a bag of mixed fiesta shredded cheese in the fridge basically all the time.

Yay. Nachos. I really liked the black eyed peas on them. If I had more chips, I would have made more. I will probably be making them again.

