Orange Chamomile Shortbread Cookies

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

Our Whole Foods recently added a cookie bar. They have some delicious shortbread cookies in a wide range of varieties. Problem is that they are $9.99 a pound. Which means the 5 cookies I got cost 2.60ish.

It made me realize I needed to learn to make shortbread cookies. I looked at a bunch of recipes online and came across this one. Lemon rosemary shortbread cookies. Pretty simple recipe, easy to follow. I decided to change it up some though and made it into Orange Chamomile Shortbread Cookies instead.

Here is the recipe after I changed it.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 cup chamomile- from tea bags, I didn’t have any loose stuff around. If I did it again I would probably buy higher quality chamomile
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the orange juice, zest and vanilla. Combine the flour, chamomile and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. (you will have to scrape the mixing bowl down)
  • Shape into two 12-in. rolls; wrap each in plastic wrap. Freeze for 30 minutes or until firm. Cut into 1/4-in. slices. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased baking sheets. (I only put them about an inch apart, they don’t really spread) Bake at 350° for 8-10 minutes or until edges begin to brown. Cool for 2 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks. Store in an airtight container. Yield: 8 dozen.

I used clementines for the orange component.


Orange Chamomile Cookies
Orange Chamomile Cookies

I mixed the zest, juice, and vanilla together. As well as the flour, chamomile, and salt.

Orange Chamomile Cookies
Orange Chamomile Cookies

Creamed the butter and sugar. added the juice, zest and extract mix. then added the flour gradually.

Orange Chamomile Cookies
Orange Chamomile Cookies

Once I had a smooth dough I made it into a log

Orange Chamomile Cookies

I froze the dough for about 40 minutes (long enough to watch an episode of Angel on netflix) and then sliced it into rounds which I put about an inch apart to bake.

Orange Chamomile Cookies

It took about 9-10 minutes for them to be golden around the edges.

Orange Chamomile Cookies

Then I put them on cooling trays.

Orange Chamomile Cookies

I think it made around 98 cookies. To buy those on the cookie bar would have cost me $40 plus. I think material costs were under $5.
Yay! Homemade cookies!

