Quarters – Baton Rouge’s New Bar/ Arcade

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

I have seen Quarter’s – Baton Rouge’s new bar/ arcade/ bowing alley/ laser tag place getting set up for a while and I had been looking forward to it opening. It finally did, a couple months behind schedule judging by their facebook page.

I didn’t plan to play much tonight but I figured I would walk in there and see what sort of machines they had. It was disappointing. I was expecting a local dave and busters knock off. It was a seriously low rent dave and busters knock off… The three (three!! I have been in chucky cheese’s with more) skeeball machines were cheap plasticy things. There were a couple basketball games, a few light gun things, 6 or so driving games, a single crane machines, a touch screen fruit ninja game, and a huge number of psuedo slot machine spin the wheel maybe win a prize crap things. Oh and a weird giant connect 4 game. Plus the games were pricey- mostly $1 to $1.50 a game. $1 a game for skeeball isn’t bad with a decent skeeball machine but for a plastic knockoff thing? Nah.

What it didn’t have? Any fighting games. Any old school arcade games. A DDR machine. Any pinball machines… Basically anything to make it a decent arcade. The bowling area looked fine but it runs more expensive than the other bowling alley so I have no reason to bowl there.

I am so disappointed. I was hoping for a nice bar-arcade like a bigger city might have. Instead we got a series of slot machine style things.

