NEW Doritos Locos Cool Ranch Taco!

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

So I just tried the new Cool Ranch Doritos Taco from Taco bell. Or rather the version of it I would eat. Cool Ranch Taco Supreme (this is key, sour cream is important for the crunchy taco) sub beans for the ground meat.

It was pretty good. The cool ranch was less pronounced than the nacho cheese version but certainly distinguishable from an ordinary crunchy taco shell. I love ranch flavor so I was pretty happy with it. I haven’t eaten a ton of ranch doritos so I am not sure exactly how close it is but it was pretty ranch-y. One note, like the nacho cheese version, the shell of this taco seems more brittle than a typical hard taco shell make it a challenge to not have it splinter and fall apart a bit on eating. I can take a bit of messiness with a taco though.

Next time I think I will have them add guacamole because I think it would go well with the flavor. Another possibility would be to get it with the baja sauce which I think would also go well with the shell.

If you weren’t already aware, Taco bell will sub beans for meat on basically any item, generally without an extra charge. Guacamole and baja sauce cost extra but they are available as add ons for almost anything as well. Sometimes I add sour cream to the bean burritos! They offer a lot of flexibility for their menu items if you ask. I don’t eat ground meat from fast food places (thanks to a horrifying book called fast food nation) and their willingness to sub beans on to everything has made life a lot easier when I am in a hurry.

