Cooking Past Midnight

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

Around 6 pm I put some pork, seasoning, apple juice, garlic,  worcestershire, pickle juice, and ketchup in the slow cooker before I went out to an open mic night.

*note to white libertarian suburban boys trying to rap- you don’t sound cooler when you say misogynistic shit*

Around 1 am I pulled the pork out of the slow cooker, and used the liquid to start my sauce.

The full ingredient list:

For thickness- Ketchup, Marinara Sauce

For tang- Pickle juice

For heat- Srirachi

For spice- Sweet and Smokey rub, applewood rub, smoked sea salt, garlic, and onion powder

For sweetness- Apple juice and brown sugar

For unami-   Worcestershire sauce

I used my immersion blender to smooth out the garlic cloves into the sauce. And right now it is simmering in the crock pot so that it can thicken up some.

 

