My First Glossybox – May 2013 Review

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

I signed up towards the end of April for Glossybox.

That meant my first box was the May one which I got towards the end of May.

All in all, I am very glad I subscribed but I wish that the survey’s would show availability for me on the website so I can hopefully nudge my further boxes towards make-up and away from skin care products..

glossy1

My first box!

I got two full sized products in my first box and as luck would have it those happened to be the two products I was most excited about in the box. Win!

glossy5

This liner from xtreme lashes is described as a gel pencil liner and it does a pretty good job. It isn’t quite as nice as my gel liner and angled brush but it comes close and it is a lot less work. Plus, it retails for $29 so it covers the whole cost of my box by itself. I have seen a lot of people online complaining that make-up boxes send them too many eye liners but since this is my first one I am still excited to get it. I got black, which is fine, but I would have been more excited by a dark brown or navy since I have a black gel liner I use already. All in all though, this is a great product for me.

glossy6

My second full size product is a solid perfume from “Nicka K New York.” I am really bad at shopping for perfume. I get indecisive and just end up with some vanilla body spray or something similar most of the time. As a result, I am excited to try new perfumes without all that pondering which one to get. Plus, June’s Glossybox is supposed to be very perfume heavy- which will be exciting for me.

Next, the trial sized but bigger than single use products.

glossy8

There is this sebastion professional volumizing spray. I have tried it once so far and my hair did seem pretty big- I even had someone ask me if I had done something different with it. The bottle has a couple uses in it and I will probably try it out again next time I blow dry instead of my usual air drying.

glossy4

Next is a tiny tube of Epionce’s anti-aging/repair serum. I have used it twice and I guess my face feels pretty smooth/soft afterwards but nothing miraculous. I will probably finish the tube out but I would never buy it because the full size version is an absolutely insane $136. I don’t really put much stock in anti-aging products. They just kinda read like some snake oil miracle cure scam to me- especially when they are ridiculously pricey

I got three small foil packet single use items.

glossy7
Lotion and exfoliant from European Wax Center

glossy9

And an etre belle mask.

I haven’t tried any of the single use foil packet items yet and I am not terribly excited about any of them. I will eventually try them out and if anything amazing happens I will report back here. I am just not that into skin care items..

All in all, despite the heavy skin care presence, I am still pretty happy with my glossybox.

glossy10

 

Here I am using both the liner and the volumizing spray. (and the perfume but you can’t see that) 

I am eager for the June box already! If you want to sign up, you can do so by following this referral link.  

