August 2013 Julep Maven Box Review- “Keep It Fresh”

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

I am always so delighted to get my Julep box. I know what is in it ahead of time, but somehow opening it is still really exciting. I think part of it is the fact that there is about a 5 day turn around from billing to the box being in my hands. I don’t know why but something about that really enhances the box experience for me.

Plus their packaging is pretty adorable and that doesn’t hurt. They did recently remove the info cards- which I miss. But they left the cute quote card and that helps some.

This months box had a floral theme and I left my usual “it girl” profile for “classic with a twist” in order to get a product I was eyeing in that box. I ended up adding on one of the it girl polishes too. Julep lets you pick from a variety of style profiles, add on from the other profiles, or add on to get the whole month’s collection.

August Julep Box

The box had forget me not seeds in it. It was a pretty adorable bonus for a floral theme.

I got: (their descriptions from the email I got)

  • Sylvia – Classic with a Twist: Lilac purple crème
  • Veronica – Classic with a Twist: Modern mauve crème
  • Doublestep Foot Treatment and Friction Stick: This no-mess shea butter treatment nourishes and moisturizes feet, stimulates circulation, and prevents blisters.

Plus I added on Nellie (Pink fuschia crème) which was part of the “it girl” box for the month.

The foot treatment is helping my super dry feet some but it isn’t as dramatic as I would have hoped. I have the driest feet imaginable and I have seen a little improvement with this but it hasn’t been as dramatic as I would have hoped. It is really easy to use and carry though. And if you wanted to use it to rub on to prevent blisters the plastic tube it comes in would be really easy to chuck into your purse.

August Julep Box

This is Veronica. It was pretty opaque at 2 coats and had a good glossy finish. I really like the dusty rose look going on with it.

August Julep Box

The lilac here with Sylvia also has a good finish at 2 coats. It really made me think of flowers which with the theme of this months box is good.

August Julep Box

My add on of Nellie continued the trend of having good coverage at 2 coats which surprised me. A lot of creme polishes I have had to do three coats to get full coverage because I use really thin coats. I was pleasantly surprised.

In a past box, I did have a polish stain my nails slightly. I had none of that with any of these three polishes. I am really happy with this months box.

You can sign up for Julep right here. 

