July 2013 Glossybox “le Grand Bleu” Review

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

It was almost august when my glossybox for July arrived. Their turnaround time is a source of some frustration for me. I really hope it improves over time because I really like what they offer variety wise but not even having a box until I am getting billed for the next one is really an annoyance.

This months box is themed “le Grand Bleu” and I don’t really see a strong theme in the box- it is supposed to be about a day at the beach but I don’t really get that theme very strongly.

July Glossybox

Glossybox still ships with an info card which I really appreciate. I like it in general plus having it on hand makes writing up the boxes easier.

First on the card is the Brazilian Blowout- Acai Deep Conditioning Mask.

July Glossybox

It has a great sweet fruity scent. The tube is big enough for about two uses on my rather long hair. I feel like it did soften my hair quite a bit. I let it set on the hair for around a half hour or so..

Next I have the Bvlgari Eau Parfumee au the Blanc Shampoo and Shower gel.

July Glossybox

The info card promised white tea but instead when I used this to wash my hair I got an almost overpowering stereotypical cheap perfume smell. It was unpleasant enough to give me a mild headache. I am going to have to see if anyone likes the scent because I don’t even feel like I would want to finish the small bottle myself.

Next is the Evologie Intensive Blemish Serum

July Glossybox

Which I will eventually try but haven’t yet had an occasion to test out. I haven’t had any zits since the box came in the mail just over a week ago.

The Figs & Rouge Cherry Blossom Tinted Lip Balm follows

July Glossybox

It has a mild but pleasant smell and some powerful moisturizing abilities. It is easily my favorite item in this months box. It comes in basically a tiny toothpaste tube and you only need to squeeze out a tiny amount to add a nice layer of moisture to your lips.

The box also included a mini polish from Nails Inc in the color Baker Street.

nails inc- glossybox july

Every photo I took of the bottle had horrid glare but here is the polish on my nails. It is a pretty blue, not a color most people are likely to have already, and solid at 2 coats. Drying time was also relatively fast.

Last in the box was the Nicka K New York “Absolute! Make up Cleansing Tissues”

July Glossybox

I really liked these wipes. I brought them on a live action role playing trip and they did a great job taking off some serious makeup. I liked the perfume stick I previously got from Nicka K New York in an earlier box. I am going to have to start looking for their stuff in stores as I think $7 for 60 of these wipes is super reasonable and I am interested in seeing what else they have.

If you want to sign up for glossybox, you can do so here.

