August 2013: Glamour Academy – Ipsy Glam Bag Review

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

I got my Ipsy glam bag in the mail- after having spent all weekend diligently avoiding spoilers online from people who already had it. I even rapid closed a window on one occasion when I realized someone had posted a picture of the contents of their bag.

I am pretty surprise motivated so I avoid knowing what is coming in any of my non julep subscription items. And I am constantly tempted by the allure of julep’s surprise-centric mystery boxes..

Well, the carefully maintained surprise in this ipsy bag was certainly a happy one.

august ipsy contents

The bag itself was purple with gold decorations but of course this is about the contents more than the packaging.

First off, there is a facial scrub that came in the bag.

ipsy scrub

This Jojoba Charcoal Exfoliating Scrub (from Michael Todd: True Organics) left my skin feeling about as smooth as a baby’s bottom. It also smelled great and a little seemed to go quite a long way. It makes your face look like you have been rubbing dirt on it when you are using it but the results are pretty good. I am very happy with this item making it’s way into my bag.

Next the “alight multi mineral BB Cream” from Pacifica.

ipsy bb cream

I have been meaning to try a BB cream for a while. I generally use a medium coverage foundation and some translucent powder. I liked the texture and feel of the BB cream but it just isn’t enough to cover my under eye circles very well. It has a bit of shimmer to it which I have mixed feelings about. I haven’t decided if it makes me look pleasantly dewy or weirdly shiny. I will have to wear it a few times and see how I feel before I know if I am okay with the shimmer.

The bag also included a blackest black “lash booster” mascara from Pixi.

ipsy pixi mascara

I was very happy with the application of this product. There was no clumping at all and it went on very evenly and had a considerable effect on my lashes. That being said- it is pricier than I am going to spend on mascara especially since if I am going out I am likely to just wear fake lashes.

One product I will definitely be picking up from the bag is the Nyx Cream Blush. (which was full size in the box)

ipsy nyx cream blush

The one I got in the bag was a darkish color called Diva. I really liked the finish and how it went on. I felt like it had a natural flushed look. I would prefer something pinker for my skin tone and the next time Ulta has a sale on nyx products I will likely pick this product up in a pinker color.

The biggest hit in the bag by far is the Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick.

ipsy urban decay lipstick

I got “anarchy” and it is a great color. I may have to pick up the full color even though I feel weird about even considering a $22 lipstick. It is far outside what I would ordinarily spend but it is gorgeous and lasts really well- even through eating dinner.

Here is a shot of me wearing the lipstick, blush, BB cream, and mascara.

Ipsy bag full face done

If you want to pick up ipsy, you can do so here. It is only $10 a month and well worth it in my opinion.

