August 2013 Love With Food- Backyard BBQ Review

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

The August Love with Food box was themed to “Backyard BBQ.” Some of it connected with the theme but it was not that cohesive as a theme.

Love with Food always manages to put an amazing number of things into a pretty small box and they include a very detailed info card.
August Love with Food
Overall I liked most of the box but there were a couple misses in there.

August Love with Food

The first thing in the box was the spice rub from “The Dizzy Pig BBQ Co.” We got the Tsunami Spin flavored rub. The info card doesn’t list which flavor and I suspect they varied some from box to box. It was not a lot of rub but it was enough to do a generous coating on two pieces of salmon. We cooked them on a cedar plank and the combo of the rub and the plank was great. I enjoyed it enough that I am looking forward to trying more of their rubs.
August Love with Food

Next is the Sea Salt Potato Crisps from Good Boy Organics. These were not something I would eat again. In fact, we ended up throwing half the bag away. I have trouble putting my finger on it but there is something really off putting about them. Maybe it was that they were too sweet? I am not sure. I just found them to be weird and unpleasant and Josh agreed.
August Love with Food

Then there was Salsa from El Pinto. It was quite good and I had expected something too mild to be pleasant because I know that I tend to like more heat than most people. The salsa was by no means “really hot” but it had enough heat to be enjoyable.
August Love with Food

The Praline from Aunt Sally’s was what I want in a praline. I like a bit of a chewyness to a praline – not like a caramel consistency but I don’t want my praline to crumble. I want it to have a good chew without sticking to my teeth and this perfectly satisfied that. I think I will have to drop into the company’s retail location next time I make it down to New Orleans.
August Love with Food

The box also had an “Amsterdam Waffle Cookie” from Rip van Wafels. The package recommended sitting the cookie over hot tea or coffee to soften it and make the caramel filling gooey. The brittle cookie really transformed by doing this to something soft, a bit chewy, and really good. I think it was my favorite item in this month’s box- sweet and really indulgent with a cup of tea.
August Love with Food

The snap pea crisps from Harvest Snaps were similar to something we have bought before from the same company. They make a wasabi flavored version of the same snack. I preferred these plain  crisps to the flavored ones but Josh preferred the flavored. The plain one had a subtle green pea flavor along with their crispy texture.
August Love with Food

I like the tube of mints from Project7 both for the powerfully flavored mints it contains and also for the adorable test tube package which I will repurpose for craft stuff once the mints are gone.
August Love with Food

The Shale cranberry, sesame seed, and honey almond cruncher snack was tasty, sweet and wholesome. The one downside- which I have experienced with some of the other Shale mixes I have tried- is that their dried fruit pieces have a strong tendency to get stuck in your teeth. I didn’t try it with this variety but the other Shale mixes can be an awesome add on to a salad- like with a fruity vinaigrette.

You can sign up for Love With Food here. (It’s $12 a month)

