August 2013 Treatsie Box Review

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

My first Treatsie box came in August. They ship on the Monday after the 15th each month in an insulated envelope with a cold pack.

Sadly, despite their best efforts my box showed up positively warm on the inside. I popped it in the fridge without even opening it in an enthusiastic effort to save anything heat sensitive it might contain.

The chocolate bar did not survive intact.

20130822_205726

While this Seattle Chocolates bar had nice flavors, it was a texture mess. When it melted the filling and chocolate mixed together into a substance that wouldn’t re-harden. I let Treatsie know that their shipping method hadn’t worked out and they quickly offered either store credit or a replacement bar. I opted for the new bar and it managed to arrive still solid thanks to a cold pack and over night shipping but I think had fed ex taken even a few hours longer that may not be the case. I think it may just not be feasible to reliably ship chocolate in the warmest months. The replacement bar showed me that it was a very good chocolate bar when intact- if a bit sweet for my tastes.

(Oh and they actually sent a whole new box, not just the damaged item)

20130822_205703

The two lollypops that came in the box were great. I think the watermelon basil beats out the blackberry hibiscus but only narrowly. Because I like putting any hard candy into it, I tried one of these in my cotton candy maker. It didn’t work out texture wise – it was a bit of a brittle cotton candy- but it was fun to eat in that form regardless.

20130822_205652

The four caramels from Slade Grove were richly flavored and had a wonderfully chewy texture. I preferred the watermelon because I am not huge on coffee flavored items.

I think all in all the Treatsie box is something I will be sticking with for a while. It isn’t as bountiful looking as many boxes but I understand that high end candy is not a cheap thing. Plus their customer service was great and responsive.

Check out more about them here. 

