On Being Tired of Arguments

by Courtney C Horne @FireezDragon

I haven’t written recently and at least partly that is because whenever I write about politics I feel like I am walking towards a stupid pointless argument. I could write about other stuff but feeling like I can’t write about a topic without opening myself up to a headache is stifling in a way.

Quite frankly I am tired of arguing with people. Especially when I know they are saying things that are factually incorrect. There are ideological disagreements to be had and then there is reality. If you disagree with reality, I am no longer interested in debating/ discussing anything important about the world with you. Even things where your view of reality isn’t insane. Because if you believe one thing that is clearly and observably false I find it hard to take anything else you believe seriously. We can talk about music or food or something that doesn’t really matter.

And see that’s thing about the truth- it doesn’t care whether you believe it or not. And at this point neither do I.

In a very similar vein- every time I hear someone say that statistics are all lies- I take that person down several notches in my “are you worth listening to ever?” list. Sure- some statistics are misleading. Some studies are bad. Say that. Don’t say that the way we mathematically explain the world for the purposes of sociology, psychology, and numerous other fields is inherently invalid.

And like the truth- statistics don’t stop mattering if you put your fingers in your ears and hum really loudly.

 

